On a quest for motivation

I am on a quest to regain my will power and motivation to eat healthy.

“Be miserable. Or motivate yourself. Whatever has to be done, it’s always your choice. ”
~ Wayne Dyer

Two and a half years ago I went on a 1200 calorie diet and began taking the diet pill Phentermine. I was able to lose 70 pounds in approximately 8 months and I felt so much better than I had in a long time. Shortly after stopping the pills I became pregnant and, of course, gained weight back quite fast as is normal for someone who had recently lost so much prior to pregnancy.

I am including this photo that show me at my lowest weight, when I was exactly one month from having my youngest (just to show how huge I get when I’m prego so you’ll understand why I end up gaining so much) and the only recent pic I have of myself. Please excuse my chest hanging out, this was at Scarborough Renaissance Festival and I was mighty proud of my accomplishment at the time. Keep in mind that in the most recent pic I have a baby strapped to the front of me!

Since having my baby I was prescribed anti-depressants for postpartum depression and they have caused me to gain over 20 pounds since the birth of my son. I have tried eating better and nothing seems to help, even looking at food makes me gain right now.

After seeing a new doctor today I was informed that Lexapro and other anti-depressants are notorious for causing weight gain and I am going to try to do without them in hopes of getting back down to a healthy weight. She also prescribed the Phentermine for me so that  can get started. In order to remain on the pills I have to lose 10 pounds per month and go in every 30 days to be weighed.

Now, to get myself back down to a 1200 calorie diet…I am in desperate need of getting my motivation and will power back! I also need some new recipes and easy meal ideas. How did I do this before? How did I get myself into the mindset? I seem to have forgotten what motivated me to dedicate myself to it.

“Always continue the climb. It is possible for you to do whatever you choose, if you first get to know who you are and are willing to work with a power that is greater than ourselves to do it.”
~ Ella Wheeler Wilcox

I am praying that I will find the motivation to succeed and that I can find the will power to stick with it! With the many diseases associated with obesity that run in my family this is something that I need to do for myself and my family.

Leave a Reply

