Really, who needs privacy?

I think that one thing people don’t tell you when you are having kids or thinking about having kids is how you no longer have a shred of privacy. My three year old, Merrick, follows me everywhere. I don’t mind, maybe because I am used to it, but it drives my husband crazy to see him “stuck up my butt” all the time (his words not mine).

Sometimes I get a little jealous of my husband, usually after a particularly stressful day of screaming Silas and maniac Merrick. He gets to shower without the kids. He gets to potty without the kids. He gets to go to work without the kids. And, he generally gets to sleep without the kids waking him up. Man, it must be nice to have little bits of time to yourself. If I took a shower without Merrick coming in at least once I would probably be worried that he was trying to pick up the baby, or torturing the cats or even setting the house on fire somehow.

Don’t get me wrong, Chase helps with the kids quite a bit when he’s home. However, since he works 60+ hours a week he just isn’t home that much and a good deal of his home time is spent sleeping so he can get up and go back to work. Merrick has also decided that Dada cannot help him do anything, it has to be Mama. If Dada even tries to help it’s crazy screaming fit time. It’s really quite frustrating and stressful so I usually just try to do it myself. I’m assuming this is just a 3 year old thing and he will get back to nice, sweet, good boy Merrick soon enough.

Anyway, back to privacy. I would just like to tell all of those young girls who want to be a mommy something that no one told me until after it was already happening. Be prepared to lose any little piece of privacy you think you might have, at least if you want to be a stay home mom. I would not trade being a mom for anything in the world. I love it, most days, and I love my kids more than life itself, but sometimes it gets a little overwhelming.

I will leave you with a video that makes me love being a mommy. Merrick is making Silas laugh like crazy. Silas just loves his brother so much. He loves to watch him act like a maniac and gets so excited when he gets down on the floor and plays with him!

 

One thought on “Really, who needs privacy?

  1. My daughters are 6 and 5 and I’m still waiting for a tiny bit of privacy. While I was in the shower, last evening, I was barged in on 3 times. Come on, now!! I know they have small bladders, but seriously?!?!

    The moments, like the one you shared, do make it all worthwhile, though!

Leave a Reply

